Can I Service My Own Sewing Machine?

We often have customers ask us where they can take their Ultrafeed Sewing Machines to be serviced. Our answer might surprise you, we tell them not to take it anywhere. At Sailrite, we are committed to helping you to learn how to service your own sewing machine, right in your own home. You may be wondering if that’s a practical option, and we whole-heartedly believe that it is.

2014_August-Ultrafeed-2

The Ultrafeed’s all metal, mechanical parts

The DIY spirit is all about self-reliance and knowing that you can do things yourself. We take this same approach to our sewing machine service. It is our goal to make sure we provide you with all the resources you need to effectively and confidently service your own sewing machine.

Our sewing machines are made from mechanical parts instead of electrical boards and circuits, so you don’t need to be a skilled electrician to tune them. In fact, anyone with even a small amount of mechanical skills can service their own Sailrite sewing machine.

Both the Ultrafeed Guidebook and the Ultrafeed Set-up, Use & Maintenance DVD are great resources for information on both routine maintenance and more advanced troubleshooting. If you run into a problem that you can’t solve through the included materials, give us a call. When you call in, we’ll start a custom support case for you to document any and all issues you may be having with your machine. This also helps us track your case until all issues are resolved. Then, you’ll be promptly contacted by a member of our sewing machine staff, often with a custom support video specific to solving your problem. If you find after the video that you need still further assistance, a staff member will work with you over the phone. No other sewing machine company provides this level of service.

Of course, there are at times reasons to have a machine professionally serviced like if your machine fell overboard or if you simply don’t have the time to service the machine yourself. For these occasions, Sailrite has a full service repairs department.

2014_August-Ultrafeed-1

To learn more about the Sailrite Ultrafeed Sewing Machines and Sailrite’s top-notch customer support visit www.sailrite.com.

Have you ever had to troubleshoot your own Ultrafeed? How did it go? Share your experiences with us in the comments!

13 comments
  1. Georgia Clark said:

    When I bought my machine, the zig-zag version it was for a ridiculously low price at a thrift store! I was so excited to see it there, since I knew the reputation of Sailrite machines. I took it home and was surprised when I looked inside the machine. It was perfectly clean and thoroughly oiled. But when I tried to sew, the upper thread broke repeatedly. I contacted Sailrite, and purchased the Maintenance DVD. I was able to determine that there was a small burr in the bobbin area breaking the thread. I then ordered the correct part, and installed it myself. Now, I have a perfect machine, thanks to the helpful people at Sailrite. I can’t tell you how thrilled I am.

    • Nikki said:

      What an excellent thrift store find. That was certainly your lucky day! So glad we were able to help you fix your machine! :)

  2. Marilyn said:

    I have a Thompson Walking Foot machine. Would the DVD also apply to it? Also, will the cording foot  also fit the Thompson? Thank you for all the information and Do it Yourself messages. I don’t have a boat but some info I have been able to adapt to other items.

      Marilyn

    • Nikki said:

      Hi Marilyn,

      Our DVD would certainly be helpful to you, but whether or not our cording foot will fit will depend on your model of Thompson machine. What is your model number (e.g. PW301)? We’ll help you figure it out! Feel free to email us too at, marketing@sailrite.com.

  3. Mary Louise Smith said:

    I was making a replacement top for my 4×4 Polaris Ranger. It was the roof, back window, and more fabric down to the frame. I am not lucky enough to have a huge space to hold the heavy fabric while sewing, so the needle moved just slightly and I started skipping stitches. Emailed Sailrite for help. Received a wonderful reply along with which video to watch to help fix it. I ordered the parts from them, did the filing where suggested, replaced another part. Now my power house is back working correctly. Wonderful service from Sailrite. No question goes unanswered.

    • Nikki said:

      That’s great, Mary Louise! Thanks for sharing your story!

  4. Mike said:

    I bought my machine way back many years ago from Sailrite. It’s a BrotherTZ1-B652. Wondering if your maintenance DVD would apply to that machine or if you might have a different DVD for for it? It still works great but needs a little TLC.

  5. Michael Kneeland said:

    Recently my boat broke a pipe at the bilge thru-hull and tried to commit suicide in the middle of the Caribbean. Having saved the boat, and made it to an island, I spent the next three weeks re-building, re-wiring, and rinsing what I thought were all the motors and electrics – Until I took out my new Sailrite machine. I found it had been awaiting attention with the lower case fully immersed in salt water. Not a good day… I took apart every single piece of the machine, cleaned and polished for three days, and was able to re-assemble and re-set the entire machine – no way would I have even attempted this without the DVD’s provided by Sailrite! Kudos’ to You!!! I wouldn’t have a machine if it wasn’t for the wonderful folks at Sailrite and the best customer support out there. THANK YOU!

    • Nikki said:

      Wow! What an inspiring story, Michael! That’s truly the DIY spirit. Glad we were able to help you in your endeavor.

  6. Viki said:

    I own a Sailrite LZs-1. I make boat covers and the like. At the height of the season- the time when I am so busy I have hives from wondering how it will all get done, my machine broke down. I emailed Sailrite a picture of what I thought might be the problem and they emailed me 3x right away with confirmation of the problem, solutions and availability of parts. I was up and running the next day.

    • Nikki said:

      Thanks for sharing your story, Viki! Glad we were able to get you going again.

  7. I bought an LS-1 from Sailrite a couple of years ago to make boat covers and do other projects. I’ve run into a few problems and I’ve been EXTREMELY happy with the technical support from the DVD that came with the machine and technical support from Sailrite. The technical support I’ve received from Sailrite is by far the best I’ve ever experienced, and I find the on-line “how to” videos to be a wonderful resource. Thank you Sailrite for honestly creating your “do it yourself” culture and then really doing it. I am a Sailrite champion for life. I am very glad that I bought the LS-1 and my projects have turned out better than I ever expected. I occasionally think that maybe I should have bought the LZ-1, but so far the LS-1 has been able to do everything I need. I might buy a LZ-1 sometime in the future as a second machine. Thank you Sailrite, please stay on this path.

Leave a Reply

