How to Make a Power Boat Cover

2013_November-powerboat

Are you looking for a new custom cover for your power boat? Did you ever think about making one yourself? We’re excited to share with you our first ever power boat project! Our new How to Make a Power Boat Cover video is full of helpful tips, techniques, and step-by-step instructions for making a perfectly snug cover.

There are many benefits to making your own custom power boat cover. Covers from big box stores can be a close fit to your boat but they rarely fit just right. Custom covers from a canvas shop will be made for your vessel but they can be really expensive. By making the cover yourself you can use the highest quality materials for the best price and have a cover that fits perfectly.

The style of cover featured in the video can be used for trailering, storage, and mooring. It features a snap closure system and adjustable support poles in the interior to prevent water from pooling on the cover. Learn how to pattern the cover on the boat with fabric (5:56), how to create darts (23:00), how to add chafe protection (33:53), how to install snaps and support poles (1:06:55) and more!

 

Power Boat Cover Materials:

Find all of the materials needed to make a power boat cover, from fabric to support poles at www.sailrite.com.

Have any of you made a custom boat cover before? Share your tips and advice in the comments!

16 comments
  1. Kevin said:

    Hi Nikki,

    I’ve watched this video 5 time already lots of info. I plan on making 2 covers one for my Bass Boat, and one for my Key West center console. and a spray curtain for the T-Top.. would you have any info on a full Boat cover for a T-Top ??

    Thank You
    Kevin Lowe

    • Nikki said:

      Hi Kevin,

      This is our very first power boat project, so we don’t have any tutorials on covering a T-Top just yet, but it’s a project that we hope to cover soon!

  2. Russ Henderson said:

    Awesome video! Thanks for posting such an involved project . I was able to get a lot of good ideas for a project I will be undertaking this winter.

    • Nikki said:

      Good luck on your cover! We’d love to see pictures when it’s finished!

  3. Kevin said:

    I ordered everything I need to make the Key West cover first and with that video you have, will make this project go a lot better for me.

    • Nikki said:

      Best of luck, Kevin! We’d love to see pictures when it’s done.

  4. Kevin said:

    Hi Nikki,

    I finished my boat cover and I think it came out awesome for a rookie. how would I go about sending you Pictures. would it be thru Facebook?
    and I know the surlast fabric is water proof / Resistant. but the needle holes are letting in little rain drops..
    is their a sealant that can be used for this?

  5. Erika said:

    Any suggestions for a 23′ boat with a pilot house? I would love to make a cover for our 35 year old Blackman! I’ve already made two panels with windows to enclose the pilot house. My first project, not a perfect project, but extremely functional and we love them. But after watching some of your videos I’m much more confident and ready for some more projects!

    • Nikki said:

      Hi Erika,
      I conferred with Eric, one of our project experts and here’s the advice he gave for your cover:
      “I would build a boat cover in two sections for a blackman 23’. The aft section would attach to the pilot house with double height common sense fasteners. Then the bow cover could attach to those same fasteners covering the double hem of the aft cover for a perfect fit. However, it can be done any way you want this is simply a suggestion.”

      The video in this post is a great starting point for techniques, too! Hope that helps!

      • Erika said:

        Thank you. I’m actually thinking 3 pieces. WOF across the top and sides of the pilot house, and then the length across the bow and back. But I will take any suggestion or technique, this is all new to me! I just need to figure out how to measure it all, I’ll be looking at some more videos before I start buying fabric.

  6. Nikki said:

    Feel free to give us a call if you need advice when getting started!

  7. Meg Brantley said:

    Hello, Just recently found your site while researching a home upholstery machine that won’t break my back and will allow me to upholster many different things from furniture to auto seats. I do have a question though, I recently purchased a Yamaha PWC/Wave runner and would love a How To on sewing a cover for it. Any thing you might have to help out?
    Thanks again and look forward to doing lots of business with you in the future. Oh and do the Sailrite ultra feeds ever go on sale or do you offer any specials?
    Meg

      • Meg Brantley said:

        Thanks tremendously Nikki! I will check out the tutorial for sure and I think Ive already signed up on your website. Got an email today regarding weekend sale on Phfiertex which made me think to ask about the machines. I’ll keep an eye out but not sure if I can wait too long. Have way too many projects to begin.

Leave a Reply

